Curbing Drama

Teenagers–especially girls–experience a great deal of drama.  On numerous occasions, I have found myself dealing with friendship and relationship spats, name-calling, and attention-seeking behavior in class. 

There are some methods I have discovered, for reducing these behaviors.  Punishment has NOT been overly effective, in my experience.  Instead, I focus on helping the students to gain attention in a positive manner.

Here are some tips:

Let them know you’re there–with limits.  I give the student a spiral-bound notebook, which he or she may use as a journal.  If the student wants, I will read the journal at lunch time, and write a response.  Then, during class, if the student wants to discuss drama, or engage in attention-seeking behavior, I remind them to write it in the journal, so I can give it my full attention at lunch.  Everytime I have done this, the student has been so relieved to know that they can be heard, that the they did not find it necessary to give me the journal very often. 

Give them some special, positive attention.  Find time to talk to the student, about everyday matters.  One student was seeing the school counselor multiple times a day, until I started walking with her to the lunch room.  Another student enjoyed touching base with me, when she first arrived in class.

Find ways to allow them to help others.  Pair the student up with someone who is struggling.  Give them a classroom “job” or some other responsibility.  This will increase their self-esteem and give them some attention, in a positive light.

With a little effort and a little extra time, it is possible to nearly eliminate drama in your classroom.

Leave a comment